Posts made in March, 2015

Penalties by offense for DUI/OUI

Posted by on Mar 19, 2015 in Criminal Laws | 0 comments

Wisconsin’s punishments for driving under the influence (DUI)/operating under the influence (OUI) increase as offenses are repeated. Penalties can include jail time, fines, license suspension, and requirement for an ignition interlock device. The legal drinking limit in Wisconsin is .08. If violated, a range of punishments, with increasing severity, are outlined for the 1st through 6th offense.

For a first offense for a DUI or OUI, the fine is $150-$300, and the defendant’s license is suspended for six to nine months. On the second offense, if convicted with a DUI/OUI, punishments include 5 days to 6 months of prison, fines from $300-$1,100, license suspension for a year to a year and a half, and the car must be equipped with an ignition interlock device.

Third and fourth offenses are similar in severity, except for the minimum jail time. For the third offense, the possibility for jail time is 30 days to one year. The fourth offense, however, constitutes 60 days to one year of jail. Each offense is furthermore punishable by $600-$2,000 of fines, 2-3 year license suspension, and an ignition interlock device.

Lastly, fifth and sixth offenses have the same repercussions. Jail time is anywhere from 6 months to 6 years, fines can range from $600-$10,000, driver’s license is suspended for 2-3 years, and an ignition interlock device is required.

There are many unfavorable affects that a DUI/OUI offense can have on one’s life. The website of Wisconsin criminal defense attorneys Kohler Hart Powell, SC says that after receiving a DUI/OUI, the severity of a punishment can be reduced if proper steps are taken. A qualified lawyer can be of great help in such cases.

Read More